NB fails to download 25 of 116 requests

Technical support and discussion of Newsbin Version 6 series.

NB fails to download 25 of 116 requests

Postby bob1678 » Sat Sep 12, 2015 8:06 pm

I am no expert in this but since installing 6.60, I have had an unacceptable level of errors when trying to download posts. I can hardly click option because of
all the "critical error" popups happening. Today, I am taking time to provide information that I am seeing on these failures.

I selected about 116 files to download per the files list. Per the failed file list, 25 of these failed. There are 2 errors that are listed. The first is bland, no error and the second is download failed: file retry count exceeded. The logging file also lists 90 errors that parts of files are missing for the ones that failed to download.
When I download these same files using a different program (mimo), I have no problems, the files are complete. Did not turn VPN on for this test.

Since installing 6.60, I frequently get the missing parts error but most of the time, it seems to "find" these missing parts. This is the first time I have noticed that the entire file is not there. On some occasions, I have cleared the download by saving the incomplete file and using pars to correct the missing block.

System info:
Windows 8.1
ASUS P8Z77 MB
Intel I5 8gb memory 2TB disk.
25 mbps internet (18-20 actual)
Files selected are about 8 day old. Largest being 34.7 MB some rar some mp3
bob1678
n00b
n00b

Re: NB fails to download 25 of 116 requests

Postby Quade » Sat Sep 12, 2015 10:34 pm

1 - You can disable the critical error popup, the same information is in the logging tab with no popping.

2 - What news server are you using? Astraweb was broken there for awhile and I think all files in that broken window are missing posts. I'd for most of this and last month. Maybe the month prior.